——————————————————————
AGRARIAN CRISIS Discussion Series#8:
——————————————————————
TOPIC:
Farmers struggle and Indian Democracy

SPEAKER:

Mr.A. Simson
National Council member of All India Kishan Mahasabha (AIKM) | Tamil Nadu State President of AIKM | Tamil Nadu State Executive Member of All India Kisan Sangarsh Coordination Committee(AIKSCC)

DATE:
Feb 18,2021 Friday 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET

VISIT:

Agrarian Crisis: Discussion Series

MORE INFO:

Mr. A. Simpson is the state president of AIKM (All India Kisan Mahasaba / All India Farmer’s Great Assembly). He is also the state committee member of AIKSCC (All India Kisan Struggle[Sangharsh] Coordination Committee) and national council member of AIKSCC. AIKSCC is a pan-Indian umbrella organization comprising 250 farmers’ organizations. The committee was formed with the integration of 130 farmers’ organizations after the death of six farmers in alleged police firing in Mandsaur, Madhya Pradesh in June 2017.

Com. A. Simson hails from a Dalit family whose parents were primary school teachers. His father was an activist in the anti-caste struggle in Tamilnadu in the 1950s. Mr.Simspon, inspired by his father’s activism, started his political activism against anti-Hindi imposition in the 1960s with the DMK. After his undergraduate studies, Simpson joined the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist). He led an underground (UG) life for 10 years as the CPI(ML) member. He was sentenced to 4 years for a political murder framed by the opposition parties. After he released in 2006, he mobilized the marginal farmers and landless predominantly Dalits and has taken up the land struggle as an AIKM leader.

Source